Activism and Advocacy With Anxiety.

I’m an anxious person. I have diagnosed anxiety issues. More than one. But I also am very involved in my community and politics. I can’t help it. I just need to be.

I came across this awesome comic in my FB feed that I felt was very helpful. Be sure to check out the artist’s page as well, because she has some cool resources listed there too!

anxiety-help7

anxiety-help6

anxiety-help5

anxiety-help4

anxiety-help3

anxiety-help2

anxiety-help1

anxiety-help

Over the years I have used this tactic, and I have come up with a lot of my own. When I was in college I didn’t have a lot of money so I worked as a temp in several different call centers. At first it was torture. But I started doing things like drawing how I imagined the person I was talking to looked, or doodling scenes to hold music, or just drawing mandalas that helped to keep me calm.

On particularly stressful days I would block a chunk of time for something special out after particularly hard calls (which, if you don’t often call, just may be any calls to your Rep). I knew the call may only take a minute or two, but I would pad my schedule so that I could have a nice, luxurious, unrushed coffee after, or put on my favorite music and just dance as dorky as I wanted, or I would dress really fancy because I’m on the phone and they can’t see and it’s for me.

I’ve had coworkers and friends who prefer to knit or crochet or even do needle point while they make calls to keep their hands busy.

The point is, you are doing something that is hard for you, and you are doing it for you, but you are also doing it for your community. So if need a little dance break after take a dance break. Do something special. Reward yourself for being awesome and reaching out to our government and helping us all to live in a better place! 🙂

Good luck and happy calls!

8 thoughts on “Activism and Advocacy With Anxiety.

  1. Loved this! While I’m in the service for others in a different way (nursing) I also suffer from anxiety and other health issues and I 100% agree that you need to reward and take care of yourself! I always tell people you have to treat and take care of yourself first! It’s not being selfish, it’s being smart! Because if you don’t take care of you then you can’t take care of others. Glad to see you are doing just that! Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My friend recommended this book to me that made a HUGE difference, because I have also worked in care fields and it can be hard to navigate those boundaries. Give it a read, it was great!

      Trauma Stewardship: An Everyday Guide to Caring for Self While Caring for Others

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the recommendation. I’m currently in the process of reading, Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness At Work, which has helped me deal with some stress at work. I’m a Buddhist and a lot of their beliefs have helped me with my anxiety. THank you for the suggestion!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Dali Lama, I’ve been to see him speak twice, once about how we can achieve World Peace, and once about Climate Change. He is so amazing, I feel like everyone, no matter their religion, should definitely check out his writing. Love it! Hope it helps with work! Peace, Sister ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

